listening in on some faith shift conversations.

By Kathy Escobar / November 4, 2014 / 9 Comments

Some of you may already know about The Work of the People and the interesting and beautiful material they have.  Interviews, visual liturgies, and all kinds of other awesomeness abound on […]

Read More

tender faith stories, handle with care.

By Kathy Escobar / October 24, 2014 / 7 Comments

Can you say “vulnerability hangover?” Brene Brown talks about them and at The Refuge we joke about them, and let me just tell you–I have a big fat one right […]

Read More

when we're spiritually hangry.

By Kathy Escobar / October 14, 2014 / 10 Comments

When I was last visiting my daughter in New York she started getting cranky because we hadn’t eaten and been walking all over town forever. She said, “Mommmmm, Feed me! […]

Read More

busy blog.

By Kathy Escobar / October 12, 2014 / 0 Comments

Sometimes I don’t blog much here, but I’ve got other posts floating around in various places. I usually always write them at totally different times but then they all hit […]

Read More

acceptance: letting go again and again

By Kathy Escobar / June 27, 2014 / 7 Comments

denial, anger, bargaining, depression.  the first four stages of grief are filled with raw and real feelings and many “i don’t knows.”  as i said earlier, these stages are so […]

Read More

depression, a natural part of grief

By Kathy Escobar / June 26, 2014 / 2 Comments

in his book a grief observed CS lewis says this about grief: “no one ever told me that grief felt so like fear. i am not afraid, but the sensation […]

Read More

bargaining: the what if's and if only's

By Kathy Escobar / June 25, 2014 / 12 Comments

we’re on day 3 of grief week and i have appreciated the comments & emails & thoughts that this has stirred up in different ways.  if you are just joining […]

Read More

grief week: anger

By Kathy Escobar / June 24, 2014 / 13 Comments

it’s grief week around here, and there are a few things i wanted to mention as we continue through the 5 stages of grief for these 5 days: 1. in […]

Read More

grief week: it starts with denial

By Kathy Escobar / June 23, 2014 / 17 Comments

well, exactly a year ago i said i was going to do a one week series called “grief week”, centered on the 5 stages of grief that can be part […]

Read More

the kingdom of God is like…

By Kathy Escobar / March 17, 2014 / 10 Comments

way back when i said i was going to share more about what happens in our living room on wednesday nights at our house of refuge gathering, which has been […]

Read More